Ethiopian Leather and Ethical Consumption?!

28.09.2021
A blog article by ENZI founder Azariah Mengistu.

ENZIs shoemakers are aware of the origin of leather and treat it respectfully and economically.

Chances and Relations

Though there are many challenges to working in Ethiopia, being at the source of sustainable and ethical supply of premium leather is a major benefit.

There are many movements globally that are justifiably looking to move away from animal products. The industrialization of meat and leather production in the developed world has created unsustainable practices that are harmful to the environment. This however is not the case with Ethiopian Leather. 

The Ethiopian Highlands. Home of animals and farmers.

Recycling Creates Sustainability

Almost all the Ethiopian leather is a bi-product of our traditional methods of agriculture. Cattle have a close relationship with the millions of small stake-holder farmers in Ethiopia and often share living quarters when the sun goes down. The cows live a full life outdoors, and they often have the scratches and marks to prove it.

When the cattle do come to the end of their lives, selling of the hide is a vital source of additional income for them. Though the system is quite archaic and with its shortcomings, it does create a sustainable, ethical product for us to work with. 

More Stories About ENZI

ENZI - the roots and beginnings of the name and the logo

We strive to give meaning to everything we do at ENZI. Our name and logo are a good example. A few years before we moved to Ethiopia, we decided on the company name ENZI. ENZI co-founder Jawad Braye grew up with me in Kenya. So it's no wonder that we chose the Swahili language for our brand.

Read more »

Corona in Ethiopia - How ENZI manages the crisis

“Social distancing is a privilege. It means you live in a house large enough to practice it. Washing your hands is a privilege too. It means you have access to running water. Hand sanitizers are a privilege. It means you have the money to buy them.”

Read more »

The Story of ENZIs First Steps.

We never thought it would take over 10 years to get ENZI off the ground when we started. If we are honest, we almost quit several times. The challenges just seemed too great for myself and the co-founder/Creative Director Jawad Braye to overcome.

Read more »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Äthiopisches Leder und ethischer Konsum?!

28.09.2021
Ein Blogartikel von ENZI Gründer Azariah Mengistu

Die Schuhmacher von ENZI sind sich des Ursprungs des Leders bewusst und gehen respektvoll und sparsam damit um.

Chancen und Verhältnisse

Obwohl die Arbeitsbedingungen in Äthiopien viele Herausforderungen mit sich bringt, ist es ein großer Vorteil, an der Quelle einer nachhaltigen und ethischen Ressource zu sein: dem Leder der äthiopischen Rinder.

Weltweit gibt es viele Bewegungen, die zu Recht versuchen, von tierischen Produkten wegzukommen. Die Industrialisierung der Fleisch- und Lederproduktion in den Industrieländern hat zu unhaltbaren und umweltschädlichen Praktiken geführt. Dies ist bei äthiopischem Leder jedoch nicht der Fall. 

Das äthiopische Hochland. Die Heimat der Tiere und Bauern.

Recycling schafft Nachhaltigkeit

Fast das gesamte äthiopische Leder ist ein Nebenprodukt unserer traditionellen landwirtschaftlichen Methoden. Die Rinder stehen in enger Beziehung zu den Millionen von Kleinbauern in Äthiopien und teilen sich oft die Wohnräume, wenn die Sonne untergeht. Die Kühe führen ein erfülltes Leben im Freien und haben oft Kratzer und Schrammen, die dies beweisen.

Wenn die Rinder das Ende ihres Lebens erreicht haben, ist der Verkauf des Fells eine wichtige zusätzliche Einnahmequelle für die Bauern. Obwohl das System recht archaisch ist und seine Mängel hat, schafft es ein nachhaltiges, ethisches Produkt, mit dem wir arbeiten können. 

Mehr Stories von ENZI

ENZI – der Ursprung und die Entstehung von Name und Logo

Wir streben danach, allem, was wir bei ENZI tun, einen Sinn zu geben. Unser Name und Logo sind ein gutes Beispiel. Einige Jahre bevor wir Äthiopien betraten, entschieden wir uns für den Unternehmensnamen ENZI. ENZI-Mitbegründer Jawad Braye ist mit mir in Kenia aufgewachsen. Kein Wunder also, dass wir Swahili für unsere Marke gewählt haben.

Weiterlesen »

Corona in Äthiopien – So bewältigt ENZI die Krise

„Soziale Distanzierung ist ein Privileg. Es bedeutet, dass man in einem Haus lebt, das groß genug ist. Händewaschen ist auch ein Privileg. Es bedeutet, dass man Zugang zu fließendem Wasser hat. Handdesinfektionsmittel sind ein Privileg. Es bedeutet, dass man das Geld hat, sie zu kaufen.“

Weiterlesen »

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.