I Made Your Hat - The Story of the Crochet Hat Maker Shake Shanafe

29.08.2021
A blog article by L.W.

Shafe Shanafe Shimenas Hatmaker

Our Clothes and Their Stories

Every piece of clothing we buy has a story that connects to our own history as soon as we see and wear it for the first time. The stories that happen afterwards we know or they are not written yet, but what about the story before? And by whom was it written?

In this blog article we want to introduce you to Shafe Shanafe. A hatter from Shimena with a hopeful story.

Crochet-Hats by Shafe Shanafe

Shafe Shanafe

Shafe was born and raised 25 km from our workshop in the mountains of Gamo and worked in agriculture for most of his youth. 

Due to the lack of fertile land and work in the region, he decided to move to Arba Minch and work as a daily wage worker in the town to make ends meet. After a dramatic and impactful conflict with an employer, Shafe was sent to a correctional facility at a young age. But when one door closes, another opens - even in prison, a place where some doors remain closed forever.

Shafe's misfortune later turned into an opportunity when he learned how to make hats in a reintegration program. During the reintegration process, Shimena also became aware of the ambitious young man, who worked hard on himself and was eager to embark on a new path. After his prison sentence was shortened through good behavior and with the prospect of a permanent job at Shimena, Shanafe was released.

Shafe Shanafe working on a hat.

Happy End

Shafe has been working at Shimena for several years now and his story has also found a happy ending in his personal life through a happy marriage and a child.

Shanafe's successful re-socialization process also led to greater trust in the reintegration of offenders into society by both the Department of Corrections, prison inmates, and potential employers in the region.

More Stories About Shimena

All Natural - How Shimena Dyes its Cotton Yarn

The concept of ‘Natural Dyes’ is by no means a new one and refers to all the dyes derived from the natural sources.

Ethiopia has a long tradition of using natural sources for textile coloration, and Shimena wants to maintain and develop this ancient knowledge.

Read more »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

I Made Your Hat - Die Geschichte von Shimenas Hutmacher Shafe

29.08.2021
Ein Blogartikel von L.W.

Shafe Shanafe Shimenas Hatmaker

Unsere Kleidung und ihre Geschichten

Jedes Kleidungsstück, das wir kaufen hat eine Geschichte, die sich mit unserer Geschichte verbindet, sobald wir es zum ersten mal sehen und tragen. Die Geschichten, die danach geschehen kennen wir oder sie sind noch nicht geschrieben, aber was ist mit der Geschichte davor? Und wer hat sie geschrieben?

In diesem Blogartikel wollen wir euch Shafe Shanafe vorstellen. Einen Hutmacher von Shimena mit einer hoffnungsvollen Geschichte.

Crochet-Hüte von Shafe Shanafe.

Shafe Shanafe

Shafe ist 25 km von unserem Arbeitsort entfernt in den Bergen von Gamo geboren und aufgewachsen und hat die meiste Zeit seiner Jugend in der Landwirtschaft gearbeitet. 

Aufgrund des Mangels an fruchtbaren Land und Arbeit in der Region, beschloss er, wie viele äthiopische Leidensgenossen, in die Stadt Arba Minch zu ziehen und dort als Tagelöhner über die Runden zu kommen. Nach einem dramatischen und folgenschweren Streit mit einem Arbeitgeber wurde Shafe in jungen Jahren in eine Justizvollzugsanstalt eingewiesen. Doch wenn sich die eine Tür schließt, öffnet sich eine andere – auch im Gefängnis, einem Ort wo manche Türen für immer verschlossen bleiben.

Shafes Unglück entpumpte sich später als Chance, als er in einem Wiedereingliederungsprogramm lernte, wie man Hüte herstellt. Innerhalb des Wiedereingliederungsverfahrens wurde auch Shimena auf den jungen ambitionierten Mann aufmerksam, der intensiv an sich Arbeitete und unbedingt einen neuen Weg einschlagen wollte. Nach einer Verkürzung der Haftstrafe durch vorbildliches Verhalten und mit Aussicht auf einen festen Arbeitsplatz bei Shimena wurde Shanafe entlassen.

Der junge Äthiopier bei der Fertigung einer seiner Hüte.

Happy End

Shafe arbeitet nun schon seit einigen Jahren bei Shimena und seine Geschichte hat auch in seinem Privatleben durch eine glückliche Ehe und einem Kind ein Happy End gefunden.

Der erfolgreiche Resozialisierungsprozess von Shanafe führte zudem dazu, dass sowohl die Justizvollzugsanstalt, Gefängnisinsassen und potenzielle Arbeitgeber der Region mehr in die Wiedereingliederung von Straftätern in die Gesellschaft vertrauen.

Mehr Stories von Shimena

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.