ETHIOPIAN FASHION COMMUNITY

Our Stories

New Stories

Semhal Guesh at the Innatex trade fair in Germany

In addition to the classic clothing sector, numerous other textiles such as accessories, home textiles, fabrics, toys and much more from the fair fashion sector will be exhibited. Accordingly, INNATEX offers time for an intensive exchange and good conversation between traders.

Read more »

ENZI - the roots and beginnings of the name and the logo

We strive to give meaning to everything we do at ENZI. Our name and logo are a good example. A few years before we moved to Ethiopia, we decided on the company name ENZI. ENZI co-founder Jawad Braye grew up with me in Kenya. So it's no wonder that we chose the Swahili language for our brand.

Read more »

Stories about ENZI

ENZI - the roots and beginnings of the name and the logo

We strive to give meaning to everything we do at ENZI. Our name and logo are a good example. A few years before we moved to Ethiopia, we decided on the company name ENZI. ENZI co-founder Jawad Braye grew up with me in Kenya. So it's no wonder that we chose the Swahili language for our brand.

Read more »

Corona in Ethiopia - How ENZI manages the crisis

“Social distancing is a privilege. It means you live in a house large enough to practice it. Washing your hands is a privilege too. It means you have access to running water. Hand sanitizers are a privilege. It means you have the money to buy them.”

Read more »

ENZI FOOTWEAR

The common goal of the founders Azariah Mengistu and Jawad Braye is, to build a fashion business in Africa that maximizes their social impact, minimizes their environmental impact and does not compromise on quality.

Stories about Kabana

Semhal Guesh at the Innatex trade fair in Germany

In addition to the classic clothing sector, numerous other textiles such as accessories, home textiles, fabrics, toys and much more from the fair fashion sector will be exhibited. Accordingly, INNATEX offers time for an intensive exchange and good conversation between traders.

Read more »

KABANA BAGS

In Ethiopia, every family is male-dominated, and sons are given more chances than daughters.
As a young female entrepreneur, I aim to be a role model for many young women to follow my footsteps.

Semhal Guesh

Stories about Shimena

All Natural - How Shimena Dyes its Cotton Yarn

The concept of ‘Natural Dyes’ is by no means a new one and refers to all the dyes derived from the natural sources.

Ethiopia has a long tradition of using natural sources for textile coloration, and Shimena wants to maintain and develop this ancient knowledge.

Read more »

SHIMENA ACCESSOIRES

Shimenas responsibility-policy contains sustainable use, fair payment, support of women entrepreneurship and training programs for the local youth to earn income by working within the production chain.

Alle Stories

Semhal Guesh at the Innatex trade fair in Germany

In addition to the classic clothing sector, numerous other textiles such as accessories, home textiles, fabrics, toys and much more from the fair fashion sector will be exhibited. Accordingly, INNATEX offers time for an intensive exchange and good conversation between traders.

Read more »

ENZI - the roots and beginnings of the name and the logo

We strive to give meaning to everything we do at ENZI. Our name and logo are a good example. A few years before we moved to Ethiopia, we decided on the company name ENZI. ENZI co-founder Jawad Braye grew up with me in Kenya. So it's no wonder that we chose the Swahili language for our brand.

Read more »

Corona in Ethiopia - How ENZI manages the crisis

“Social distancing is a privilege. It means you live in a house large enough to practice it. Washing your hands is a privilege too. It means you have access to running water. Hand sanitizers are a privilege. It means you have the money to buy them.”

Read more »

All Natural - How Shimena Dyes its Cotton Yarn

The concept of ‘Natural Dyes’ is by no means a new one and refers to all the dyes derived from the natural sources.

Ethiopia has a long tradition of using natural sources for textile coloration, and Shimena wants to maintain and develop this ancient knowledge.

Read more »

ETHIOPIAN FASHION COMMUNITY

Unsere Stories

Neues Stories

Semhal Guesh auf der Innatex-Messe in Deutschland

Neben dem klassischen Bekleidungssektor werden auch zahlreiche weitere Textilien wie Accessoires, Heimtextilien, Stoffen, Spielzeug u.v.m. aus dem Fair- Fashion Bereich ausgestellt. Auf der INNATEX biete sich dementsprechend Zeit für einen intensiven Austausch und gute Gesprache zwischen Händler:innen.

Weiterlesen »

ENZI – der Ursprung und die Entstehung von Name und Logo

Wir streben danach, allem, was wir bei ENZI tun, einen Sinn zu geben. Unser Name und Logo sind ein gutes Beispiel. Einige Jahre bevor wir Äthiopien betraten, entschieden wir uns für den Unternehmensnamen ENZI. ENZI-Mitbegründer Jawad Braye ist mit mir in Kenia aufgewachsen. Kein Wunder also, dass wir Swahili für unsere Marke gewählt haben.

Weiterlesen »

Stories über ENZI

ENZI – der Ursprung und die Entstehung von Name und Logo

Wir streben danach, allem, was wir bei ENZI tun, einen Sinn zu geben. Unser Name und Logo sind ein gutes Beispiel. Einige Jahre bevor wir Äthiopien betraten, entschieden wir uns für den Unternehmensnamen ENZI. ENZI-Mitbegründer Jawad Braye ist mit mir in Kenia aufgewachsen. Kein Wunder also, dass wir Swahili für unsere Marke gewählt haben.

Weiterlesen »

Corona in Äthiopien – So bewältigt ENZI die Krise

„Soziale Distanzierung ist ein Privileg. Es bedeutet, dass man in einem Haus lebt, das groß genug ist. Händewaschen ist auch ein Privileg. Es bedeutet, dass man Zugang zu fließendem Wasser hat. Handdesinfektionsmittel sind ein Privileg. Es bedeutet, dass man das Geld hat, sie zu kaufen.“

Weiterlesen »

ENZI FOOTWEAR

Das gemeinsame Ziel der beiden Gründer Azariah Mengistu und Jawad Braye ist es, eine afrikanische Schuhmarke auf dem Markt zu etablieren, die einen maximalen sozialen Beitrag leistet und dabei möglichst umweltschonend hochwertige Schuhe produziert.

Stories über Kabana

Semhal Guesh auf der Innatex-Messe in Deutschland

Neben dem klassischen Bekleidungssektor werden auch zahlreiche weitere Textilien wie Accessoires, Heimtextilien, Stoffen, Spielzeug u.v.m. aus dem Fair- Fashion Bereich ausgestellt. Auf der INNATEX biete sich dementsprechend Zeit für einen intensiven Austausch und gute Gesprache zwischen Händler:innen.

Weiterlesen »

KABANA BAGS

Äthiopien wird von Männern dominiert und Söhne bekommen mehr Chancen als Töchter.
Als junge Unternehmerin möchte ich ein Vorbild für viele junge Frauen sein und sie dazu ermutigen große Träume zu verfolgen.

Semhal Guesh

Stories über Shimena

Alles natürlich! Wie wir unser Baumwollgarn färben

Das Konzept „natürlicher Farbstoffe“ ist selbstverständlich keineswegs neu und bezieht sich auf alle Farbstoffe, die aus natürlichen Quellen stammen.

Äthiopien hat eine lange Tradition in der Nutzung natürlicher Quellen für die Färbung von Textilien, und Shimena möchte dieses alte Wissen erhalten und weiterentwickeln.

Weiterlesen »

SHIMENA ACCESSOIRES

Shimenas Grundsatz umfasst die achtungsvolle Nutzung natürlicher Ressourcen, die gerechte Bezahlung von Angestellten, die Förderung von Frauen in Führungspositionen und die Schulung von einheimischen Jugendlichen sowie deren Eingliederung in den Berufsstand.

Alle Stories

Semhal Guesh auf der Innatex-Messe in Deutschland

Neben dem klassischen Bekleidungssektor werden auch zahlreiche weitere Textilien wie Accessoires, Heimtextilien, Stoffen, Spielzeug u.v.m. aus dem Fair- Fashion Bereich ausgestellt. Auf der INNATEX biete sich dementsprechend Zeit für einen intensiven Austausch und gute Gesprache zwischen Händler:innen.

Weiterlesen »

ENZI – der Ursprung und die Entstehung von Name und Logo

Wir streben danach, allem, was wir bei ENZI tun, einen Sinn zu geben. Unser Name und Logo sind ein gutes Beispiel. Einige Jahre bevor wir Äthiopien betraten, entschieden wir uns für den Unternehmensnamen ENZI. ENZI-Mitbegründer Jawad Braye ist mit mir in Kenia aufgewachsen. Kein Wunder also, dass wir Swahili für unsere Marke gewählt haben.

Weiterlesen »

Corona in Äthiopien – So bewältigt ENZI die Krise

„Soziale Distanzierung ist ein Privileg. Es bedeutet, dass man in einem Haus lebt, das groß genug ist. Händewaschen ist auch ein Privileg. Es bedeutet, dass man Zugang zu fließendem Wasser hat. Handdesinfektionsmittel sind ein Privileg. Es bedeutet, dass man das Geld hat, sie zu kaufen.“

Weiterlesen »

Alles natürlich! Wie wir unser Baumwollgarn färben

Das Konzept „natürlicher Farbstoffe“ ist selbstverständlich keineswegs neu und bezieht sich auf alle Farbstoffe, die aus natürlichen Quellen stammen.

Äthiopien hat eine lange Tradition in der Nutzung natürlicher Quellen für die Färbung von Textilien, und Shimena möchte dieses alte Wissen erhalten und weiterentwickeln.

Weiterlesen »